How to change the global default value of the Document Viewing User Option “Open Documents in New Window”

Description


You can change the default “Open Documents in New Window” so that all users are initially configured with the desired setting. By default, this option is enabled, but by editing a simple configuration file, this option can be set to disabled. Note: users will still be able to manually change this setting for their own web client.

 

Summary


To change this setting globally, simply follow these steps:

  1. On the server, navigate to: [Program Files]Digitech SystemsPaperVisionPVEWebjavascript
  2. Locate the file named pveUserOptions.js
  3. Right-click on the file and select Properties, then uncheck the “Read-only” attribute.  Click OK.
  4. Right-click on the file again and select Edit to open to file in Notepad.
  5. Press CTRL + F to do a search within the file for the following line: openDocInNewWindow
  6. Change this setting from true to false so that the entire line looks like this:   var openDocInNewWindow = false;
  7. Save the file and close.

Once the changes are saved, when users log in to the PaperVision Enterprise Web Client the default setting for Open Documents in New Window will be unchecked.

 

Filed under PaperVision® Enterprise, R70.1

Last modified May 27, 2010

Submitted May 27, 2010

Related Articles

Share via Email Print